Servicing The Filler Of An Omas Extra Faceted

hari317

I am new to Omas pens and have only recently been able to discover the beauty and writing of these pens. Last week I received two older Omas extra pens NOS, while flushing the pens today, one of the pens spat out a bit of ink from the piston knob end. So I decided to investigate and fix the filler. Here are the pictures:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii197/hari317/Omas/IMG_4344.jpg

The section can be unscrewed from the front. After removing section, unscrew the piston knob all the way, the piston seal with the spindle will come out from the section end of the pen. The piston knob will come out from the distal end.

The Piston seal on spindle, faceted barrel and the filler knob.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii197/hari317/Omas/IMG_4347.jpg

One side of the piston rod has a rectangular linear guide which mates with an anti rotation key fixed on the inside of the barrel, a very simple design:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii197/hari317/Omas/IMG_4349.jpg

There was absolutely no lubricant on the piston seal and the spindle threads. There was some mineral oil like substance on the filler knob threads. I used silicone grease on the piston seal and the spindle.

Omas, I found, uses the vintage MB type "feeder case" arrangement to hold the nib and feeder together. A very well made nib. Excellently shaped tip and tapered slit with proper slit gap, all this out of the box! No tuning was required.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii197/hari317/Omas/IMG_4345.jpg

Notice the 50's MB like slots on the feeder case.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii197/hari317/Omas/IMG_4346.jpg

However I did not have to use any tools to disassemble the pen. I used Silicone grease at the section threads and for lubing the piston. Ideally a section sealant should be used at the section threads but I did not have any at hand.