Jump to content


Photo

Malware Problem Fixed


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
168 replies to this topic

#151 Ray-Vigo

Ray-Vigo

    Parts Bin Denizen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,619 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:00

Well, indeed, it was fixed again.

There was another small loophole, which si also closed now.

Somebody is testing us it seems.

Warm regards, Wim



I'm getting an all clear now from no script, good grab Wimg.

#152 xiewadu

xiewadu

    Chocolate Covered Bacon... *drool*

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:30

Hello, Admins!

I've received the following error a couple of times:
Warning: require_once(/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/ips_kernel/') in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

The first time was going to FPN (I was already logged in), and clicking on 'View New Content'.
I logged out, and back in, thinking that I needed to refresh my logon since the upgrade.

Things looked good then, until I clicked on TMLee's homemade journal thread, where I received the same error.

Thank you for the work you all are doing, and I hope this error message helps, even if it is a pain in the butt.
- Jen
<img src="http://i729.photobuc...SnailBadge.png" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" /><img src="http://1.bp.blogspot...ropLogoFPN.jpg" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" />

#153 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,683 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:38

Hello, Admins!

I've received the following error a couple of times:
Warning: require_once(/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/ips_kernel/') in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

The first time was going to FPN (I was already logged in), and clicking on 'View New Content'.
I logged out, and back in, thinking that I needed to refresh my logon since the upgrade.

Things looked good then, until I clicked on TMLee's homemade journal thread, where I received the same error.

Thank you for the work you all are doing, and I hope this error message helps, even if it is a pain in the butt.
- Jen

Sorry, was a littl etoo agressive with closing loopholes :D.

Fixed that bit.

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#154 79spitfire

79spitfire

    No the car is NOT painted with Bay State Blue..

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,120 posts
  • Location:Wherever I'm at..
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:39

Hello, Admins!

I've received the following error a couple of times:
Warning: require_once(/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/applications/core/sources/classes/attach/class_attach.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/ips_kernel/') in /home/fpnadmin/public_html/forum/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 1248

The first time was going to FPN (I was already logged in), and clicking on 'View New Content'.
I logged out, and back in, thinking that I needed to refresh my logon since the upgrade.

Things looked good then, until I clicked on TMLee's homemade journal thread, where I received the same error.

Thank you for the work you all are doing, and I hope this error message helps, even if it is a pain in the butt.
- Jen


Getting the same goofy messages here, perhaps the hackers are still at it?? See if you can find them and poke them with a fountain pen and give them ink poisoning!! :mad:

:gaah:

Increase your IQ, use Linux AND a Fountain pen!!Neko_animated.gif
Fedorabutton-iusefedora.png


#155 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,683 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:42

See my reply above. That is fixed now, has nothing to do with the hackers but us trying to close any potential loopholes. This was was tackled a little too aggressively by ourselves.

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#156 SamCapote

SamCapote

    Got Warm Milk?

  • Member - Gold & Supporter

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,136 posts
  • Location:USA (CT)
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:50

See my reply above. That is fixed now, has nothing to do with the hackers but us trying to close any potential loopholes. This was was tackled a little too aggressively by ourselves.

Warm regards, Wim


Looks good for me now. Great pickup, Wim! Did you notice that link I posted a couple pages back about this problem apparently hitting between 7,000 - 100,000 websites (Computerworld article), depending on which guy's opinion they asked.
With the new FPN rules, now I REALLY don't know what to put in my signature.

#157 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,683 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 03:02


See my reply above. That is fixed now, has nothing to do with the hackers but us trying to close any potential loopholes. This was was tackled a little too aggressively by ourselves.

Warm regards, Wim


Looks good for me now. Great pickup, Wim! Did you notice that link I posted a couple pages back about this problem apparently hitting between 7,000 - 100,000 websites (Computerworld article), depending on which guy's opinion they asked.

Yes, thanks I did. I actually saw it already even before you posted it :D.

We don't have the same problem however, although the guys in the newspaper may no thave gotten all facts, or not all facts right :D.

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#158 79spitfire

79spitfire

    No the car is NOT painted with Bay State Blue..

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,120 posts
  • Location:Wherever I'm at..
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 03:03

See my reply above. That is fixed now, has nothing to do with the hackers but us trying to close any potential loopholes. This was was tackled a little too aggressively by ourselves.

Warm regards, Wim


Thanks, I think we posted almost the same time!

Keep up the good work! (oh yea, if you need a pen for "sticking" I've got a few you can have...Be sure to use an IRON GALL ink...on the hacker...for permanace :mad: )

Edited by 79spitfire, 13 June 2010 - 03:04.

Increase your IQ, use Linux AND a Fountain pen!!Neko_animated.gif
Fedorabutton-iusefedora.png


#159 dizzypen

dizzypen

    Swimming in a sea of Noodler's Navy!

  • Moderators

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,978 posts
  • Location:The South
  • Flag:

Posted 13 June 2010 - 03:09


See my reply above. That is fixed now, has nothing to do with the hackers but us trying to close any potential loopholes. This was was tackled a little too aggressively by ourselves.

Warm regards, Wim


Thanks, I think we posted almost the same time!

Keep up the good work! (oh yea, if you need a pen for "sticking" I've got a few you can have...Be sure to use an IRON GALL ink...on the hacker...for permanace :mad: )


... but you might want to dip yourself in noodler's bulletproof black so you'll be "protected from the elements".

Go FPN ninja, Wim! :notworthy1: :ninja:
Equal Opportunity Ink and Fountain Pen User.

My blog: The Dizzy Pen

#160 Ubermensch

Ubermensch

    Dipped Only

  • Member - Silver

  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 03:38

that's weird. another forum was also hacked today.

#161 jpl

jpl

    Extremely Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 03:45

For all of you who fear might have been infected with a trojan remember that the most important defense post infection is a good firewall.

Your Internet connection flows both
ways . . . so must your security.

Not only must our Internet connections be fortified to prevent external intrusion, they also provide secure management of internal extrusion. Any comprehensive security program must safeguard its owner by preventing Trojan horses, viruses, and spyware from using the system's Internet connection without the owner's knowledge. Scanning for the presence of Trojans, viruses, and spyware is important and effective, but if a piece of malware does get into your computer you want to expose it immediately by detecting its communication attempts and cut it off from communication with its external agencies.

Go to the gibson research website and learn about computer security if needed :unsure:

#162 Ghost Writer

Ghost Writer

    Extremely Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 259 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 16:45

I've been away a missed the issue. Thanks to all the admin folks who surely worked hard to correct the problems. Thank you

#163 ZeissIkon

ZeissIkon

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,247 posts
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 14 June 2010 - 00:07

I've never seen this before, and wonder if it isn't related to the (apparent) upgrades that took place while the malware attack was being corrected. When I try to "mark board read" (using the link at the extreme bottom of the main forum page), I see the following:

[#20312] Sorry, but you do not have permission to use this feature. If you are not logged in, you may do so using the form below if available.

Since I'm logged in, and have used this feature many times in the past, it's tempting to wonder if this isn't another case of "closing loopholes too vigorously." In any case, I suppose it's not very important, since only threads and sub-fora I don't read anyway can't be marked read en masse -- but it's still annoying when something doesn't work.
Does not always write loving messages.
Does not always foot up columns correctly.
Does not always sign big checks.

#164 xiewadu

xiewadu

    Chocolate Covered Bacon... *drool*

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 00:11


OMG, the sky is falling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry, was a littl etoo agressive with closing loopholes :D.

Fixed that bit.

Warm regards, Wim


Thanks for your help, Wim!
I appreciate your hard work.
- Jen
<img src="http://i729.photobuc...SnailBadge.png" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" /><img src="http://1.bp.blogspot...ropLogoFPN.jpg" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" />

#165 xiewadu

xiewadu

    Chocolate Covered Bacon... *drool*

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 00:13

I've never seen this before, and wonder if it isn't related to the (apparent) upgrades that took place while the malware attack was being corrected. When I try to "mark board read" (using the link at the extreme bottom of the main forum page), I see the following:

[#20312] Sorry, but you do not have permission to use this feature. If you are not logged in, you may do so using the form below if available.

Since I'm logged in, and have used this feature many times in the past, it's tempting to wonder if this isn't another case of "closing loopholes too vigorously." In any case, I suppose it's not very important, since only threads and sub-fora I don't read anyway can't be marked read en masse -- but it's still annoying when something doesn't work.

I just tried it and was able to mark them read.
Just some more info for the admins... I'm not neener-neener-neering you.

- Jen

Edited by xiewadu, 14 June 2010 - 00:13.

<img src="http://i729.photobuc...SnailBadge.png" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" /><img src="http://1.bp.blogspot...ropLogoFPN.jpg" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" width="60" height="45" />

#166 Lloyd

Lloyd

    Can a nib be smoothed by psychokinesis?

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,494 posts
  • Location:Trapped inside of a snowglobe that is resting upon a mantel in a home in Massachusetts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 00:41

I've never seen this before, and wonder if it isn't related to the (apparent) upgrades that took place while the malware attack was being corrected. When I try to "mark board read" (using the link at the extreme bottom of the main forum page), I see the following:

[#20312] Sorry, but you do not have permission to use this feature. If you are not logged in, you may do so using the form below if available.

Since I'm logged in, and have used this feature many times in the past, it's tempting to wonder if this isn't another case of "closing loopholes too vigorously." In any case, I suppose it's not very important, since only threads and sub-fora I don't read anyway can't be marked read en masse -- but it's still annoying when something doesn't work.

I repeatedly received a similar message yesterday while trying to reply to a PM from another FPNer. I tried again several hours later and it worked fine.
"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Oscar Wilde

#167 salduchi

salduchi

    Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Location:So.Cal

Posted 14 June 2010 - 05:05

I thought....darn, got banned...who did I (water the flowers) off now? I hate computer issues.

#168 regulator

regulator

    Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 14 June 2010 - 08:42

Thanks to Admns, you reacted well and soon.
This is too important a site to see it under threat!
:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

#169 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,683 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:33

I've never seen this before, and wonder if it isn't related to the (apparent) upgrades that took place while the malware attack was being corrected. When I try to "mark board read" (using the link at the extreme bottom of the main forum page), I see the following:

[#20312] Sorry, but you do not have permission to use this feature. If you are not logged in, you may do so using the form below if available.

Since I'm logged in, and have used this feature many times in the past, it's tempting to wonder if this isn't another case of "closing loopholes too vigorously." In any case, I suppose it's not very important, since only threads and sub-fora I don't read anyway can't be marked read en masse -- but it's still annoying when something doesn't work.

Some of the work to close loopholes and vigorously cleaning the site was conducted while the site was life. We normally only do this after the site is brought of0-line, but took a chance as it has been offline recently for too long too often already in our opinions.

The side-effect is that occasionally these types of errors do occur., specifically when we are clearing (th efew remaining) caches or when cleaning up databases. However, this could also be due to the browser caches needing a clear out, i.e., the browsers on the client or member side. I'd suggest to try this. A how-to is linked to in the FAQ pinned topic in Members Helping Members.

HTH, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever