Jump to content







FPN Quick Navigation




Photo

Board upgrade and fixes


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
56 replies to this topic

#21 ArchiMark

ArchiMark

    Pen Nut & Pretty Good Guy

  • FPN Supporter - Platinum

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:California
  • Flag:

Posted 21 January 2010 - 18:56

He will probably slap my hand for doing this, but...

You can give a big thanks :clap1: to our chief IT wizard, Wimg (Wim). He was the mastermind behind this whole upgrade. :notworthy1:


Thank you, Wim!! :thumbup:


Cheers,
~MYU


Thnk you Wim! No database error messages since the upgrade. Great job!

Rita


Rita, you must me living right...

I'm getting database error messages left and right....drivin' me nutz!!!

:crybaby:
Digerati & FP Addict
Diplomat #055, Vacumaniac, & Nozacerati

*** Please check my for sale posts in Classifieds ***

#22 RitaCarbon

RitaCarbon

    Away

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 21 January 2010 - 19:02

He will probably slap my hand for doing this, but...

You can give a big thanks :clap1: to our chief IT wizard, Wimg (Wim). He was the mastermind behind this whole upgrade. :notworthy1:


Thank you, Wim!! :thumbup:


Cheers,
~MYU


Thnk you Wim! No database error messages since the upgrade. Great job!

Rita


Rita, you must me living right...

I'm getting database error messages left and right....drivin' me nutz!!!

:crybaby:


Does it depend on location or something? I still don't get any database error, and it seems to work faster. It might be pure luck. I have to use it when it comes. I am flying to Las Vegas tomorrow! No kidding...

#23 penspouse

penspouse

    Happy Granny

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,278 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ
  • Flag:

Posted 21 January 2010 - 19:53

Rita, you must me living right...

I'm getting database error messages left and right....drivin' me nutz!!!

:crybaby:


I did too earlier this morning. Finally gave up. Came back a couple hours later, and have had no problems since. (Insert non-existent fingers crossed icon here)
Soli Deo Gloria


Shameless plug
- Some of my amateur photography.

#24 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,303 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 21 January 2010 - 20:30

I just got `em too. Didn't matter what I was looking at;every time I would go forwards or
backwards. Also tried to click onto the website earlier and got it then.............



John

I did some database maintenance around that time, tried to do it in small steps so as to not have to close down the forums; I guess the small steps didn't help ... sorry...

I got a database error that closed me out of the entire site while I was on less than an hour ago. I was looking at a post and tried to go back to the homepage and zap! After that nothing until now. But hey, I'm back on! Posted Image

That was caused by a fix for a funny error in the database caused by a bug in the software, with which the Invision guys helped us. It had to be done there and then, unfortunately resulting in the skins having to be recached. Recaching the skins takes some time, creating a connection loss for several minutes.

The fix has worked, though Posted Image.

Sometimes these things happen, or have to be done...

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#25 RitaCarbon

RitaCarbon

    Away

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 21 January 2010 - 22:33

Why everybody has the database error and I don't?Posted Image

#26 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,303 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 21 January 2010 - 22:41

Because you're lucky :D.

I may have found a probable cause for al the DEs, but I have no time to look at it right now; it requires a lot of research I am afraid.

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#27 RitaCarbon

RitaCarbon

    Away

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 21 January 2010 - 22:51

Thanks, Wim! You are my lucky charm.

Great job!

#28 ZeissIkon

ZeissIkon

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,247 posts
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 21 January 2010 - 23:04

Thanks, but I just got 2 of those Database Error message pages in a row now....

Using Firefox on OSX 10.6.2....

:blink:


And I just got one a minute ago, using Windows XP Home SP3 and SeaMonkey 2.0.2 (effectively Firefox with built-in e-mail).
Does not always write loving messages.
Does not always foot up columns correctly.
Does not always sign big checks.

#29 dizzypen

dizzypen

    Swimming in a sea of Noodler's Navy!

  • FPN Moderators

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:The South
  • Flag:

Posted 21 January 2010 - 23:06

And I just got one as I was trying to respond to a PM. Wim thanks so much for all your hard work.
Equal Opportunity Ink and Fountain Pen User.

My blog: The Dizzy Pen

#30 RitaCarbon

RitaCarbon

    Away

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 21 January 2010 - 23:23

Oops! Ran out of luck. Have just got one too. Posted Image

I always get what I ask for...

#31 Rae

Rae

    Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:North Queensland, Australia

Posted 22 January 2010 - 06:13

"View New Content" hasn't worked for me for the last 10 hours or so.... I just get the Driver Error - "There appears to be an error with the database".

ETA: I know this is supposed to be intermittant still.... but this has been every single time I've tried it, including when I've tried to refresh. Just metioning it in case it's not only me. :)

Edited by Rae, 22 January 2010 - 06:22.


#32 ArchiMark

ArchiMark

    Pen Nut & Pretty Good Guy

  • FPN Supporter - Platinum

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:California
  • Flag:

Posted 22 January 2010 - 14:42

"View New Content" hasn't worked for me for the last 10 hours or so.... I just get the Driver Error - "There appears to be an error with the database".

ETA: I know this is supposed to be intermittant still.... but this has been every single time I've tried it, including when I've tried to refresh. Just metioning it in case it's not only me. :)



Same thing here, Rae!!

:blink:
Digerati & FP Addict
Diplomat #055, Vacumaniac, & Nozacerati

*** Please check my for sale posts in Classifieds ***

#33 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,303 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 22 January 2010 - 17:06

"View New Content" hasn't worked for me for the last 10 hours or so.... I just get the Driver Error - "There appears to be an error with the database".

ETA: I know this is supposed to be intermittant still.... but this has been every single time I've tried it, including when I've tried to refresh. Just metioning it in case it's not only me. Posted Image



"View New Content" hasn't worked for me for the last 10 hours or so.... I just get the Driver Error - "There appears to be an error with the database".

ETA: I know this is supposed to be intermittant still.... but this has been every single time I've tried it, including when I've tried to refresh. Just metioning it in case it's not only me. Posted Image



Same thing here, Rae!!

Posted Image

Could you please be so kind to report those occurrences in Community Feedback? I'll start a thread on this, and pin it.

Please report any occurrences with a simple, short line, in the following format:

DE 2010/01/22 20:17:33

Essentiallt, DE for Driver Error, followed by date and time in standardized format.
That would help us tremendously in tracing the areas where these problems originate, especially as it does look now that time is indeed an important factor in all this.

TIA, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#34 jgrasty

jgrasty

    Antique

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:Dallas TX
  • Flag:

Posted 23 January 2010 - 16:56

I get about 1 database error a day, but I'm constantly on FPN and can live with it.
Regards,

Joey

In use: Pelikan M200 Green Marbled (EF nib) with Noodler's Black and Pilot Fermo (M nib) with Noodler's Legal Lapis.

#35 ceejaybee

ceejaybee

    Vintage

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 521 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 19:04

Not sure if it's only me with this problem (haven't seen any other postings) but during the last 48 hrs each time I view a posting with image attachments in the original post, I get what seems to be a random bunch (always the same 9 photos) of photos attached that don't appear to have any connection to the original posting, it seems to be a 'reply' but isn't attributable to anyone? Can anyone give me a clue why this is happening, Thanks in advance :thumbup:

#36 Doug Add

Doug Add

    Antique

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,621 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 20:21

ceejaybee, have you tried clicking on the button at the bottom of the page called "Delete My Cookies"?

#37 ceejaybee

ceejaybee

    Vintage

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 521 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 20:32

ceejaybee, have you tried clicking on the button at the bottom of the page called "Delete My Cookies"?


Yes, I tried that, logged back in and still the same, it's only happening with the posts that have attached images, the rogue photos are resized high res images and take quite a while to download, it's driving me potty :gaah:

#38 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,303 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 22:12

ceejaybee, have you tried clicking on the button at the bottom of the page called "Delete My Cookies"?


Yes, I tried that, logged back in and still the same, it's only happening with the posts that have attached images, the rogue photos are resized high res images and take quite a while to download, it's driving me potty

Ok, try the following:
Log out from FPN completely (log out, but do not close the browser, yet).
Clean cache, cookies, temp files, etc.
Close the browser.
Start the browser up again.
Browse to FPN, and log in.
Check if the problems persist.
If they do, please copy the url for the message where it happens, and copy that to a message reporting this, preferably in Community Feedback, so that we can try to check what and where things are happening.

TIA!

Warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#39 ceejaybee

ceejaybee

    Vintage

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 521 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 23:14

Ok, try the following:
Log out from FPN completely (log out, but do not close the browser, yet).
Clean cache, cookies, temp files, etc.
Close the browser.
Start the browser up again.
Browse to FPN, and log in.
Check if the problems persist.
If they do, please copy the url for the message where it happens, and copy that to a message reporting this, preferably in Community Feedback, so that we can try to check what and where things are happening.

TIA!

Warm regards, Wim
[/quote]

Hi Wim, I've done as you suggested and the photos are gone, Thank you! Only thing is when I open a post instead of the replys being listed at the bottom of the page now all replys are open, did I do something wrong?
Best Regards, Carol

#40 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,303 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2010 - 23:25

Hi Carol,

Hi Wim, I've done as you suggested and the photos are gone, Thank you! Only thing is when I open a post instead of the replys being listed at the bottom of the page now all replys are open, did I do something wrong?
Best Regards, Carol

That's the forum layout you have selected, I think, provided I understand correctly what you are saying.

Click on My Settings, towards the top of the board, right half, then click the forums tab on the next screen, left top, and if you look towards the bottom left of the page you'll see Topic Display Mode. Just select the one you want.

HTH, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever





[Sponsored Content]