• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Bourgeoisie

Bourgeoisie

Near Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:A triangle of Michigan... Mackinaw City, Metro Detroit and Grand Rapids

Posted 09 September 2009 - 19:58

Hello, I'm new to the world of fountain pens - I just ordered my first safari a few days ago and CAN'T wait for it to arrive. I have dabbled with dip pens before so I have some ink, but I'm not sure if I should trust it in a fp. Its Speedball "Superblack India Ink". I know you can't use india ink with fp's, but this one claims to be "non-clogging"". Should I trust it?

My real question is about a pen shop. I'm a college kid in the Grand Rapids (MI) area; does anyone know of a good place to get fp supplies? I need a go-to shop because shipping kills. So as long as it writes well, the cheaper the better.

Many thanks,

bourgeoisie

PS - I am getting a converter for my safari, so I will be needing bottled ink, not cartridges.

#2 majorworks

majorworks

Paperback Writer

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 09 September 2009 - 20:03

I'm sure others will chime in; I have only a little more experience than you do. But I would be very wary of that ink, regardless of its label's claims.

Someone local to you will have to help you with shops...

Best of luck!
Happiness is an Indian ED!

#3 Chthulhu

Chthulhu

Rawr.

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,226 posts

Posted 09 September 2009 - 20:11

QUOTE (Bourgeoisie @ Sep 9 2009, 12:58 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello, I'm new to the world of fountain pens - I just ordered my first safari a few days ago and CAN'T wait for it to arrive. I have dabbled with dip pens before so I have some ink, but I'm not sure if I should trust it in a fp. Its Speedball "Superblack India Ink". I know you can't use india ink with fp's, but this one claims to be "non-clogging"". Should I trust it?