long, light pens?

Hephaestus

Greetings pen gurus,

A little advice, please? I’m quite new to FP’s, and need some help tracking down the sort of pen I’m looking for.

I am, at present, writing with a Sailor Professional Gear, medium nib. It’s a delightful pen, but I prefer a lighter instrument- as my hands are too large to write comfortably without the cap posted. I generally prefer an un-posted pen, provided the balance is not odd. The Lamy Safari is wonderfully light, and sufficiently long sans cap- but my example (a medium nib) does not feed reliably with many inks, and the triangular barrel is a touch narrow for my liking.

So what I’m looking for is a long, light pen- with a fairly smooth, relatively fine (Sailor Med or Med-Fine, Euro Fine) nib. Something to write (pages) with, rather than carry around as a status symbol. I suppose I’d be willing to pay up to $300 for such a pen, but it seems to me that most pricier pens are massive, heavy things, that I don’t care for. Is there such an instrument as I describe?

Thanks very much,

-Ryan

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hephaestus

• wimg

• KendallJ

• Richard

Top Posters In This Topic

Nakaya pens are lightweight, but many of them are pricier that your upper bound. I bought a Tamenuri Black (clipless) and it is a gorgeous thing to look at. At first, it gave me some trouble but it is now writing great.

Dani Trio's all ebonite pens are fantastic and offer some of the best cost-benefit relationship, but I do not know if they fit your slenderness requirement. Mine is a Mikado size, and it is a fat lightweight.

Omas pens, I mean the models made of cotton resin, are very light. If you get used to a Magnum 360 and its triangular shape you will have a fantastic writing instrument which is large and light. I love mine.

Edited by acfrery